21

21

21. Cheers! Cue the celebrations of legally being able to do pretty much anything. Personally, the hype of being able to drink and bar crawl isn’t the MOST attractive thing about this birthday. I suppose that’s a perk, but I don’t think my liver is all toooo excited about it. I look back at the blessings I have received from the 21 years of life God has given me. I think about all the effort my parents put into each of my birthdays and I am happy to say they make every year special. No matter what struggles I may have while going through school or other issues I am blessed and reminded at least once a year that I am alive and I am loved and I have purpose and I am okay and I am doing a good job. Happy 21, twenty-fun! Because fun doesn’t stem from just getting drunk; it can come from waking up in the morning and going for a run, painting or writing, spending time with someone you love, screaming to your favorite song from the top of your lungs as you drive with your windows down, indulging in that chocolate bar you’ve been eyeing near the cash register at the gas station. With each birthday I am more humbled by my family and friends coming together to make me feel so wonderful on this day I was born years ago. That is a gift in itself.

Leave a comment